£649.99*

Reviews on

Strenfit X500 High-Pressure Dropstitch Inflatable 1-Seat Kayak

3.98 / 5 164 ratings
134 users recommended this product

At Decathlon, reviews are reliable.

  • Woman
    30-39 years old
    07 August 2020
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Unstable and dangerous

    I’ve been kayaking since I was 11. Im 30. I’ve sat in flat bottomed and “tippy” kayaks alike. In sea, rivers, estuaries, white water, etc. I kayak 30 miles normally for 8 hours. I was looking forward to doing so in this! It’s heavy - I doubt you’d be able to use this as a rucksack but it stores away nicely. Took this out this week on holiday and it’s nothing short of bloody dangerous! It tracks beautifully but pointless when it capsizes every 5 mins! There is daylight between the bottom of the sides underneath the coaming even at 5psi on the bottom. Fine for a racing kayak, absolutely pointless for a tourer where you want to rest and coast along. You absolutely cannot stop paddling. I’ll be returning this ASAP.

  • Woman
    40-49 years old
    06 August 2020
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Professional use only !!

    Bought this and returned !
    Extremely tippy! Capsised 5 times impossible to re-enter from water and fills quickly with water. Extremely hard to control. Beautiful boat! Fantastic quality but not for the faint hearted

  • Woman
    40-49 years old
    03 August 2020
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Not fit for purpose

    Had to take it back after a month, wearing really badly on the folds for putting it away and nowhere near as robust as it was made out to be. Skirt was practically impossible to fit on. Very disappointing considering the cost.

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    03 August 2020
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Pleasantly surprised

    I have been shopping online for quite a while looking for an inflatable kayak. To be honest, I had my sights on a competitor until I stumbled across this model online. I read a lot of the feedback on the European and obviously Canadian Decathlon websites. All mention an issue with stability which made me very nervous. I picked up the last model in North America, and decided to try it. I was advised to purchase the Kayak Itiwit Pump, which is a mistake for this model. You need to buy the Paddle Board pump, which goes with this type of drop stitched high pressure air valves.
    Ready to ridicule myself by going overboard on such a cool looking kayak, I was pleasantly surprised to see that I could control it quite well, and did not cap sized once. I did follow the advice found on the Itiwit website, for my load (84Kg), I dropped the pressure in the floor to 5 psi, positioned my knees on the side of the kayak, adjusting the foot rest correctly, and that was it. It must be said that I am a novice at kayaking and even my 12 year old (less than 50Kg wet!) son had no problems going around in rivers and lakes.
    So well done, a great product, high performing, tracks really well in the water and responds fast to any accelerations you want to impart it with! Also quite a good looking kayak which definitely has people looking and chatting.

  • Man
    50-59 years old
    23 September 2019
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Flawed Gem - Very user weight sensitive.

    Brilliant design and concept and really is awesome in terms of ease of set up and drying/deflation etc. Cuts through the water beautifully and looks great. However - it is very unforgiving in stability terms. I'm 75kg and at full pressure (10psi) it is very much sat on (not in) the water. I looked at the ITIWIT official images online and noticed it always looks lower in the water and has a gentle 'curve' vertically bow to stern when shown in use in those imsges. At my weight and 10psi mine was very high in the water and ruler flat front to back. So - I dropped pressures all round and that has significantly helped stability. it sits much more in the water than it did. I have a question for ITIWIT therefore. Did you design it this way deliberately? I can see it would be ok for around 100kg at 10psi but for lighter loads and users it's crazy high and tippy at that pressure? I would also ask you to develop an inflatable backrest as this would help immensely. It's brilliantly conceived and executed in the main but needs more primary stability and a more comfortable seat to perfect it. I'd be really keen to hear the design teams feedback on my pressure/user weight observation and the official images I mention online please? (From the ITIWIT adventure pages).

  • Man
    30-39 years old
    23 September 2019
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Exactly as expected... And maybe even better ;)

    I bought it yesterday, decided to take the weekend off (I am a bartender) and just, with no experience what so ever in kayaking loaded it with a tent, inflatable mattress, sleeping bag, a chair, food for 2 days, some clothes, some basic camping gears, and 7 liter of water (I even kept my wallet and passport with me, just to be sure that if something go wrong... Well it will be big time). I have to admit that I had to empty some water from the boat after 1h... I won't go to long about the first hour because I want to leave a positive review. But well, once you get the balance thing ok, your back and you hips are getting more relax (adjusting the foot support right helps a lot) I love everything about this kayak now, just crossed Iskar lake (that's in Bulgaria) on a straight line without any feeling of instability ( yes, you have to keep paddling). I just want to say thank you to the team at Itiwit. Keep on the good work
    Thomas, a happy customer :)

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    04 June 2019
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Great concept but too unstable to be practical

    I have three other (non-inflatable) kayaks and years of experience in various types of kayak but I tried this and found it to be quite unstable and difficult to keep upright in very calm sea conditions. I was accompanying an open water swimmer but could not spare a moment to be of service to him because I didn't dare take my hands off the paddle. Back in shallow water I tried some strong support strokes and rolling, neither of which resulted in success.
    I have a feeling it would be more stable if it had another 100kg of ballast in it but I'm sure that is not the intention with this concept. Looking at the boat from the side, it sits very high out of the water and although the seat position is nice and low (and comfortable) this isn't enough to give a feeling of security. Evidently the hull shape also contributes to the instability but I won't try to analyse that in detail. There is also very little in the way of solid decking to brace your knees against which is a disadvantage for this type of kayak. I would not want to use this on anything but still calm water and, as I bought it for short sea trips, I decided it was not for me.
    I would give it one star because I think it is a little unsafe for the vast majority of paddlers but I have given a second star for the shear ambition decathlon have in trying to pioneer a boat like this. The build quality is great, I just think the concept needs more development.
    I can't fault Decathlon's customer service either, they have refunded me with no quibbles, just as advertised.

  • 20 May 2019
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Impressive for an inflatable

    I've been wanting a touring type kayak, but until seeing the X500, hadn't found one that I could store - this is a game-changer. The design is rigid and it doesn't flex like you'd expect from an inflatable, apart from around the cockpit where your knees sit which you can't really push against. It tracks well in the water and feels great and very easy to pilot.

    It's quick to set up with one larger section to pump, two medium and two small, but it's completed in a few minutes with the recommended pump. Confusingly, do be sure to get the "SUP" pump, not the kayak one as they have different connectors and the SUP one supports the higher pressure needed. The correct pump has a built in pressure gauge and is a darker grey. Folding it up is also quite easy, it isn't difficult to fit it into the rucksack along with the accessories.

    If you've used a recreational kayak with a flat hull then this kayak is surprisingly tippy and will take a bit of getting used to. On calm water I've nearly fallen in once by leaning slightly too much, so be careful! Rear storage is good with lots of room to store the pump and backpack if you need to, plus a dry bag or two for clothes, food etc. Rigging on the top as standard is very useful and easy to reach.

    My main complaint so far is really the size and weight of it when packed up. It's unavoidable I suppose, but at 18kg it's difficult to pick up, put on and carry the backpack. A folding sack trolley may work, but not sure if you'd fit it into the storage area with the pump and backpack.

    Overall, a very exciting and promising product with well-engineered and designed parts that's easy to take on the water.

  • Man
    30-39 years old
    28 May 2019
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    A great choice for long distance expeditions

    You won't believe this is an inflatable kayak if you don't see it getting unpacked and inflated. I tried the product and felt very little drag as compared to any other inflatable kayaks. its streamlined design makes it cut through, ideal for touring and long distance expeditions. with good leg room for food and clothes. I recommend a water tight bag as its kind of intermediate model i believe. Need some balance as it would wobble a little when not paddling (moving). In short need some balance to use it advantage but cuts water like a fish. Another thing i loved about this kayak was it takes very less time to inflate.

    Brand's answer :


    Dear Sir

    Thank you very much for your feedback, it means a lot to us. We will continue to improve the kayak year on year. Feel free to share your experience with the kayak in the future as well :)
    Keep paddling!

    Neha Sharma
    Brand Manager
    Kayaking | ITIWIT

  • Man
    40-49 years old
    18 May 2020
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    kippelig aber beherrschbar

    Das Boot ist sehr schnell auf- und abgebaut (Ich pumpe halb so oft wie beim Gumotex Swing2). Die Verklebungen könnten eine Spur genauer sein, aber die Wasserlinie ist schön verarbeitet. Die Widerstandsfähigkeit des Materials ist vergleichbar mit Gumotexbooten (Ich habe das Swing2 und das Solar). Ich (1,88m - 85 kg - Schuhgröße 46) habe genügend Platz und die Luke ermöglicht einen komfortablen Einstieg. Wer Luftsitze gewöhnt ist, wird etwas Sitzkomfort vermissen. Mit der Neoprenspritzdecke von Itiwit komme ich nicht so gut zurecht, weil sie nicht sehr leicht anzubringen ist (vor allem mit klammen Fingern). Nun zum Wichtigsten, den Fahreigenschaften: Im Vergleich zu meinen anderen Luftbooten ist es natürlich viel kippeliger, weil es ein V-förmiges Unterschiff hat. Es ist aber auch viel schneller und weniger windanfällig. Ich bin jetzt viermal gefahren und möchte dieses neue Fahrgefühl nicht mehr missen. Ich sitze jetzt im Zahmwasser schon sehr entspannt im Boot, und bin froh, dass ich mich von einigen Rezensionen nicht verunsichern lassen habe. Vielleicht ist es kippeliger, wenn man sehr viel leichter ist. Ich freue mich schon auf meinen nächsten Trip!

HAUT DE PAGE