£39.99*

Reviews on

50N Buoyancy vest Pockets for canoeing and kayaking

4.4 / 5 123 ratings
111 users recommended this product

At Decathlon, reviews are reliable.

  • Man
    +60 years old
    08 September 2020
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Much too big

    I picked the >80 kgs size because I'm 87 kgs, but it's far, far too big for me, and the straps won't tighten up enough. I'm only 34 inch waist (87 cms). The buoyancy pads stick out badly and get in the way. Might just about be ok if it had a crotch strap to stop it riding up, but even then, the side flaps (which are padded) stick out and get in the way. I'd trade it for the next size down, but they've sold out. I should have read the other reviews - it's a common problem. Very disappointing.

  • Man
    +60 years old
    13 July 2020
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    Atractive price and functionality but......

    A potentially great product spoiled by inexpensive, easy-to-fix issues. I went to a Decathlon store to try this out and like other reviewers I found that the "Large" size is designed for "the Michelin Man". I weigh 73kg, 178cm tall and think I am pretty normal in proportions. I could not adjust the item for a snug, safe fit because there is simply too little adjustment available. I tried the "Medium" size and that was a much better fit but has a recommended maximum weight of only 60kg - so probably not up to the job.

    I found other significant flaws when opening the zip pocket across the chest. Firstly the fabric and the zip are both lightweight and, as a result, when you try to open the zip one-handed it often snags. This didn't happen on every jacket I tried and only then in one direction. When it snagged, the only way to open it fully was to use two hands - obviously not ideal when you need to keep hold of your paddle. Secondly Decathlon seem to be having a (stupid?) penny-pinching, cost-saving binge on zipper tags. If you are paddling on a cold day with numb fingers on the sea, you will want to be able to quickly and easily find the zipper tag and pull it open. However the zips on this jacket have been fitted with a small, flimsy loop of cord that has no "lump" to get hold of. It's a waste of space and probably saved them less than 30p / garment. I found the same useless cord loops fitted on the Decathlon spray cags, which I liked and bought 2 of (2x£30). When I got home I promptly ordered 4 decent zipper tags on eBay for £3.50. I recommend the cags, not the BA.

  • 25 June 2020
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Never arrived

    I'd love to write a review about this item but it went missing in transit. Decathlon aren't responding to my requests for support, and ASDA the click & collect agent say they never received the parcel and can't help. I either want the product or my money back - I bought two by the way so that's over £80 with shipping - completely unacceptable. This isn't the first time an order has gone missing. I won't bother making any purchases in the future, it's far too much hassle.

  • Man
    30-39 years old
    19 June 2020
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    74kg, but not fat enough

    I weigh 74Kg, so I bought the 60Kg to 80Kg vest.
    What they don't tell you is that that is a LARGE.
    In other words, unless you have a 40" or larger chest, this is too big for you!
    I closed it all up as small as I could and quickly realised that if I were to actually use it in the water, it would float up around my head and be more of a hindrance than an aid.
    So, other than the size being ridiculous, its seems good!

  • Man
    +60 years old
    16 June 2020
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Would not have bought if I could have tried it on!

    This looked good online but when I came to put it on there are problems. It is difficult reaching the push together fasteners if you are not as flexible as you used to be. Consequently you have to slacken straps and readjust every time. The buoyancy itself is very rigid which means the from and back pockets are actually limited in what you can get in. I have not tried it on the water but it seems uncomfortable.

  • Man
    16 March 2020
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Excellent Value

    Great value for money vest and comfortable to use. Could be improved by making chest straps more adjustable, to tighten more.

  • Man
    07 February 2020
    Use since 1 week or less
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Three men in a boat

    Well one of them is a dog and we have canoe camped The Thames from near the source to Teddington (12 days) with borrowed buoyancy aids...time to get my own and although it has not been tested yet this product looks like it will test well on future trips...the bladder pocket will be useful for hydration...and it seems roomy for multi day paddling!

  • Man
    23 September 2019
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Maciej

    Very good

  • 23 September 2019
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Brilliant

    Comfortable to wear , don’t get in the way of paddling , easy to rinse and dry .

  • 23 September 2019
    Use since 2 to 8 weeks
    That review has been deposited on this product version
    api.label.reviewFlag.checkedPurchase.title
    Great vest with smashing features

    Great vest. Bought it for dinghy sailing it keeps me afloat well (I'm 185 cm and 110kg) I get thirsty all the time so the addition of a pouch for a drink sac is an excellent idea. And the pockets to the front are a great addition, I keep a rope knife in it on a string. I love this vest

HAUT DE PAGE